RBTV Students Win Major Awards

NATAS (National Academy of TV Arts & Sciences/Midwest Chapter) notified RB last week that several RBTV students were the recipients of three Crystal Pillar Awards – the highest honor given to high school students enrolled in a TV production course. Senior Colin Hughes was recognized for his fictional short film “Dodger” and for his direction of the short film “Clarity” and Sophomore Sara Vacek for an episode of her Public Affairs series “For The Fauna,” subtitled “Riverside Olmsted Society.”

Four NATAS Honorable Mentions were also awarded for the following entries: “RBTV News Update,” produced by Colin Hughes, Sara Vacek, Anisa Selenica, Thomas Kraus, Brendan Shakeshaft, Casey Vileta, Charlie Marcou, Derek Johnson, and Kevin Baginski; Colin Hughes for the short film “Clarity,” and for the commercial “RBTV Sports;” and Sara Vacek for her editing of “For The Fauna.”

Colin Hughes, who will be attending DePaul University in the fall, won the NATAS and Luke Palermo High School Scholarships.

Other RBTV students who were honored at the MMEA (Midwest Media Educators Association) High School Video Festival took home four second place awards in the following categories: TV Show, “TalkNado,” produced by Louis Garcia, Olivia Joyce, Quintin Kotlicky, Daniel Kouba, Thomas Kraus, Scott Lagler, Anthony Landahl, Jazmine Maldonado, Francesca Perry, Schuyler Poss, Andres Resto, Caleb Schlesser, Anisa Selenica, Charles Sweeney, Julian VanDrunen and Casey Whisler; Dramatic Narrative, “Dodger,” produced by Colin Hughes; Documentary, “For The Fauna,” produced by Sara Vacek; and for Cinematography, “2015 Cinematography Reel,” produced by Colin Hughes.